Your Area

The Derwent Valley covers an area of North West Durham and the major town of Consett along with the major settlements of Shotley Bridge, Burnopfield, Leadgate, Dipton and Delves Lane and the minor settlements of Medomsley, Ebchester, Hamsterley, Hamsterley Mill, Blackhill, Bridgehill, Benfieldside and Crookhall lie within its boundaries.

The town of Consett, located on a hilltop above the Derwent Valley on the edge of the Pennines, was a former steel working town where operations ceased in 1980. Adjoining Consett is Shotley Bridge, surrounded by picturesque woodland and once the heart of the sword making industry. Leadgate now stands as a small village with a close knit community, but it originated as the home of the workers and staff of the Eden colliery 1844 -1980, and the Consett Iron Company.

In the Derwent Valley area there is a strong community spirit and sense of local pride, which combine with active partnership working on a range of local projects and initiatives, leading to local improvements.

When County Durham became a single unitary authority, Durham County Council worked closely with local communities to try and split the County up into smaller recognisable areas to enable the authority to keep in touch with the diverse needs of the County's communities. This saw the creation of 14 different areas which would be overseen by 14 Area Action Partnerships (see map below).

A number of similar websites have been set up in some of the other Area Action Partnership areas, for more details click on the area your interested in on the map.